Guy’s Night Out

Monday was Noah’s day for surgery, and everything went fine.  We checked in at 6:30am for the 8:30 procedure, which in turn took until almost 11:00am to finish.  The hernia on the right side turned out to be larger than they expected. And, while they were in there, they noticed that he had another hernia on the left side as well.  In addition to all that, he had some work in some parts I’d rather not get too detailed on.  Needless to say, the fact that Noah can have all that done but only need Tylenol and Motrin for pain relief makes him pretty much the toughest guy I know.  I’m not sure I’d want to be conscious yet.  I reminded him that chicks dig scars, but realistically if any chick gets to the point where she sees these scars, I’d say she already digs him.  He didn’t pass his room air challenge, so he remains on oxygen while at home.

 

I stayed in the hospital overnight with Noah, which was our first guy’s night out.  We stayed up all night hanging out and drinking (drinking formula, that is).  If you saw me at work the next day, I’d be lying if I said those were the clothes I slept in, but only because I didn’t sleep that much.  He was discharged this morning (Tuesday).  If he had been a term baby, they would have sent him home the same day, but as a former preemie he needed overnight observation.

 

Children’s Hospital did another great job, although I’m wondering if we are going to need to pay residence taxes in Aurora given the amount of time we spend there.  In an odd coincidence, they put us in exactly the same room I stayed in with Madison two weeks ago.  At least the place is familiar to us now.

 

In other news, we took the kids for some shots last week and got new weights.  Madison was 10lbs 3oz, Noah was 10lbs 6oz and Chloe was 11lbs 7oz.  They each put on around 2lbs in the last 30 days, for those of you keeping score at home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

